Dev Journey Diaries

Exploring the Web Development Realm

I knew nothing about web development (well, I knew about HTML from my Myspace days when I used to rearrange a couple of lines here and there for backgrounds) before walking down the somewhat unknown web development door. I had just finished my six-month contract at a local nursery in my hometown in the Bay of Plenty. I had no idea what I was going to do afterward; I didn’t really think about it. I’ve always had old jobs to go back to (the joys of seasonal work).

However, the thought of returning to jobs I so longed to leave behind didn’t appeal to me at all. If anything, it made me not want to work, but a girl’s got to eat. So, I got my act together and started sending my CV off around the city, 30 minutes away from me. Bigger city, better options, right? Well, no, not so much. I visited about 30 shops, handing out my CV. Twenty of them said I had to apply online, and the other ten, I never heard from, even after harassing them, or they were not hiring at the moment. I did this for about two weeks straight—cold calling, emailing, dropping into shops, you name it, I did it. I maybe got five calls and emails back, with no luck.

It was when I was scrolling through Instagram that I saw someone showing off some code. It looked really intriguing, and the way they had displayed it was captivating. That’s when I knew I wanted to do that. I didn’t understand anything about the code; I just knew I wanted to learn how to write it and to create . My brain started going a million miles an hour, as it does when I’m excited about something. It’s like idea strings all being fired off at once in all directions, hoping to catch and cling onto something. This is when I had to reel in all the strings of ideas before my brain exploded. So i made a road map and a plan.

Leave a comment